Search
× Search
Menu
  1. Home
  2. Parents and Students
  3. Departments and Contacts
    1. Business Services
    2. Cafeterias
    3. Calendar
    4. CTE
    5. Curriculum and Instruction
    6. District Office
    7. Exceptional Student Services
    8. ELL
    9. Human Resources
    10. Instructional Technology
    11. Library and Media Centers
    12. Maintenance and Transportation
    13. Registration and Enrollment
    14. Staff Links
    15. Student Health
  4. Community
  5. Careers
  6. Get Connected
a

Special Education Programs

Buckeye Union High School District provides a comprehensive program of special education classes and services in compliance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act of 2004 (IDEA).  A continuum of educational programs and placements including itinerant, resource self-contained and private day placements are available for all IDEA eligible students.

Click here for a copy of the IEDA Procedural Safeguards  (English)  (Spanish)

Homebound Services

Buckeye Union High School District provides educational opportunities to students who require Homebound Services.  “Homebound” means a student who is capable of profiting from academic instruction but is unable to attend school due to illness, disease, accident or other health conditions, who have been examined by a competent medical doctor as being unable to attend regular classes for a period of not less than three school months or a pupil who is capable of profiting from academic instruction but is unable to attend school regularly due to chronic or acute health problems, who has been examined by a competent medical doctor and who is certified by that doctor as being unable to attend regular classes for intermittent periods of time totaling three school months during a school year.

Information and required documents can be obtained from the guidance office at your child’s school.

 

Destruction of Records

The Special Services Department of the Buckeye Union High School District will destroy all special education records on students who have not received special education services for at least four years due to withdrawal, graduation, transfer from the district, termination of services, or when this information is no longer needed to provide educational services to the student.

Section 504

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 protects all students with disabilities, defined as those having any physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities (including learning).  It allows for reasonable accommodations to assist the student in accessing educational opportunities.

504 plans are coordinated by the student’s guidance counselor at their individual school.  If a parent believes that their child has a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activity they should contact the guidance counselor for assistance in the consideration and development of a 504 Plan.

 

Child Find

Child Find-The intent of Child Find is that all children from birth through age 21 with delays or disabilities receive supports and services they need.  About ten percent of the general population has some form of disability or disorder.  BUHSD is searching for any high school students who may have difficulties resulting from a disability and may need special education services in order to succeed in school.

If you know of a student who has a major difficulty with organizational skills, learning or understanding, speaking or writing, getting along with others, or making adjustments in different situations or completing tasks, please contact the BUHSD Special Services Department at (623) 386-9708.  Free special education services are available to eligible students.

FERPA

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA): Federal Law that protects the privacy of student education records.

 

hgs yükle paykasa paykwik

Exceptional Student Services Contacts | Fax # (623) 386-9706

ESS Director

Scott Acton

scott.acton@buhsd.org

(623) 386-9708

ESS Compliance Coordinator

Carrie Atkeson

carrie.atkeson@buhsd.org

(623) 341-1917

ESS Admin Assistant

Annette Brettner

abrettner@buhsd.org

(623) 386-9708

ELL/Migrant

Frances Ruiz

fruiz@buhsd.org

(623) 386-9751

Mariano Escobedo

Mental Health Counselor

mariano.escobedo@buhsd.org

(623) 340-6867

Psychologist:BUHS

Mark Hedges

mark.hedges@buhsd.org

(623) 327-2224

Psychologist:EFHS

Amanda Kinnie

akinnie@buhsd.org

(623) 327-2441

Psychologist:YHS

Julie Capps

julie.capps@buhsd.org

(623) 474-0105

Speech Language Assistant

Angela Bunch

abunch@buhsd.org

(623) 327-2201

Speech Language Assistant

Vanessa Castillo

vanessa.castillo@buhsd.org

(623)474-0287

Speech Language Assistant

Amanda Ramos

amanda.ramos@buhsd.org

(623) 327-2225

Health Director

Christina Williams

cwilliams@buhsd.org

(623) 474-0118

ESS Transition Specialist

Latisha Woodruff

lwoodruff@buhsd.org

(623) 474-0377

ESS Transition Specialist

Trina Stark

tstark@buhsd.org

(623) 474-0377

ESS Transition Specialist

Elijah Wickander

elijah.wickander@buhsd.org

(623) 474-0377

ESS Admin Assistant:BUHS

Britlynd Williams

bwilliams@buhsd.org

(623) 474-0355

ESS Admin Assistant:EFHS

Sandra G. Castillo

sandra.castillo@buhsd.org

(623) 327-2422

Fax: (623) 327-2432

ESS Admin Assistant:YHS

Maggie Nava

margarita.nava@buhsd.org

(623) 474-0148

Fax: (623) 474-0142

Buckeye Union High School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability. Click here to read the entire policy.

El Distrito Escolar de Buckeye Union High School no discrimina en base de raza, color, origen nacional, sexo, edad o discapacidad. Haga clic aquí para leer toda la política.


Terms Of Use Privacy Statement Copyright 2019 by the Buckeye Union High School District